August 12, 6.30pm | Online

New Horizons in ES-SCLC

A meeting proudly sponsored by Amgen, focusing on current treatments and future therapies for Extensive Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer (ES-SCLC)

Register Now



A/Prof Surein Arulananda

Deputy Director, Medical Oncology, Monash Health
TOGA SCLC/Mesothelioma Co-Chair

Surein Arulananda is the Deputy Director of Medical Oncology and Thoracic Oncology trials lead at Monash Health. He holds an adjunct Associate Professor position with Monash University.

He returned to Australia in early 2022 after spending 2 years as a Post-Doctoral Research Fellow under the supervision of Prof Pasi Jänne at the Dana-Farber Cancer Center and Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA.  He has a special interest in thoracic malignancies and is the associate editor for the Journal of Thoracic Oncology Clinical Research Reports published by the IASLC.

He has published over 30 peer-reviewed manuscripts, been an invited speaker both nationally and internationally, and has been successful at competitive grant funding.

Nick Pavlakis, TOGA Chair, Board of Directors

Prof Nick Pavlakis

Medical Oncologist, Royal North Shore Hospital
Chair, TOGA Board of Directors

Prof Nick Pavlakis has nearly 20 years’ experience in the treatment and research of thoracic and gastrointestinal cancers. He is the current Chair of the TOGA Board and has previously served on the Boards of Northern Cancer Institute and COSA.

His training and research background includes new drug development, biomarker research, clinical trials, including TOGA’s ASPiRATION study, and clinical practice guidelines development.

Nick has served on the leadership committees of numerous national/international collaborative group trials in lung cancer, mesothelioma and gastrointestinal cancers. He was involved in the development of Australian clinical practice guidelines in lung cancer and mesothelioma. He has served as faculty of the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) World Conference on Lung Cancer, its Mesothelioma task force and is current co-chair of the IASLC Continuing Medical Education Committee; and is a faculty member of the MOGA/ASCO/ACCR Australia and Asia Pacific Clinical Oncology Research Development Workshop (ACORD).


Male with pale skin and dark short hair. He is grinning and wears a light blue shirt and maroon tie.

Prof Michael Boyer

Medical Oncologist, Chris O’Brien Lifehouse

Prof Michael Boyer is a Medical Oncologist who has specialised in the treatment of thoracic and head and neck cancers for over 25 years.

He was appointed as Chief Executive Officer at Chris O’Brien Lifehouse in 2023, having been the Chief Clinical Officer since 2011.

Michael holds the conjoint chair of Medical Oncology and Thoracic Oncology at Lifehouse.

In 2010, he was made a member of the Order of Australia for his work as an educator, a clinical trials researcher and for his involvement in the development of integrated care facilities for people suffering with cancer.

Michael continues to be actively involved in research, focusing on the testing of new anticancer drugs for the treatment of lung cancer.

Kate Sutherland

Prof Kate Sutherland

Laboratory Head, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Prof Kate Sutherland is a Laboratory Head at The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI). She completed a Bachelor of Science (Hons) degree and PhD from The University of Melbourne in 2005. From 2006-2012, she undertook postdoctoral studies under the mentorship of Prof Anton Berns at the Netherlands Cancer Institute, before returning to Melbourne in 2013 to establish an independent research group at WEHI.

Her research program is dedicated to understanding tumour heterogeneity in lung cancer, with a focus on small cell lung cancer and KRAS-mutant lung adenocarcinoma. Her work has established new approaches and technologies to study lung cancer, leading to seminal findings on new genetic drivers, the immune microenvironment, and molecular mechanisms underlying anti-tumour immunity in lung cancer. 

Dr Sagun Parakh

Medical Oncologist and Clinician Scientist, Austin Hospital

I am the lung cancer stream lead at the Austin Hospital. I am jointly appointed to the Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute (ONJCRI) as a post-doctoral research fellow where my research focus is on biomarker and novel therapy development in solid tumours.

Young woman of Asian appearance with long dark hair and gentle smile.

Dr Rebecca Tay

Medical Oncologist, Royal Hobart Hospital / Icon Cancer Centre
TOGA Scientific Committee SCLC/Mesothelioma Co-Chair

Dr Rebecca Tay is a medical oncologist at the Royal Hobart Hospital and Icon Cancer Centre. Dr Tay completed medical oncology training in Melbourne followed by a clinical research fellowship in lung cancer at The Christie NHS Foundation Trust in Manchester, United Kingdom.

Dr Tay is extensively involved in clinical research as a principal/sub-investigator for several active clinical trials and is the current TOGA Scientific Commitee SCLC/Mesothelioma Co-Chair. 

Thank You to Our Sponsor